Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.
Graphic for the Veterans Crisis Line. It reads Veterans Cris Lins 1 800 273 8255 press 1
My healthevet badge
 

Homeless Veterans

Upcoming Events

Conferences

The events below are directly related to homelessness, Veterans' issues or have specific tracks or sessions exploring these topics. Please contact event organizers directly for more information or to register to attend.

Dates Event Name Location
February 18 – 20, 2015 National Conference on Ending Family and Youth Homelessness San Diego, CA
March 1 – 3, 2015 NLIHC 2015 Housing Legislative Forum Washington, DC
March 7 – 11, 2015 NLC 2015 Congressional City Conference Washington, DC
March 8 – 10, 2015 NAHMA Federal Affairs Issues (Winter) Meeting Washington, DC
March 25, 2015 HUD Call Series: Ending Veteran Homelessness in 2015 Teleconference
May 27 –  29, 2015 National Coalition for Homeless Veterans Annual Conference Washington, DC
July 19 –  23, 2015 National Association of Police Organizations Savannah, GA
July 27 –  30, 2015 Veterans Treatment Court Conference Washington, DC
July 30 –  August 4, 2015 American Bar Association Annual Meeting Chicago, IL
August 15 –  23, 2015 AMVETS 71st National Convention Birmingham, AL
December 10 – 13, 2015 Council of State Governments National Conference Nashville, TN

Stand Downs

Stand Downs are typically one- to three-day events providing supplies and services to homeless Veterans, such as food, shelter, clothing, health screenings and VA Social Security benefits counseling. Veterans can also receive referrals to other assistance such as health care, housing solutions, employment, substance use treatment and mental health counseling. They are collaborative events, coordinated between local VA Medical Centers, other government agencies and community-based homeless service providers.

Below are the scheduled stand downs for 2015. This list is updated often so check back regularly. To volunteer for or participate in an upcoming stand down in your area, contact the Point of Contact (POC).

Dates Location VA Primary POC Alternate POC
January 24, 2015 Washington, DC Stephanie Burns* | (202) 745-5832
stephanie.burns2@va.gov
Cheryl Samples | (202) 745-8000
cheryl.samples@va.gov
January 24, 2015 Cleveland, OH Barb Karam | (216) 391-0264, X862 2025
barbara.karam@va.gov
Nellie Rogers | (330) 761-7054, x865 2030
nellie.rogers@va.gov
January 26 – 29, 2015 Bend, OR Troy Martin*
troy.martin1@va.gov
Jessie Higgins | (541) 383-2793
jessie.higgins@covo-us.org
January 27, 2015 Aberdeen, SD Pat Moore* | (605) 229-3500, x2269
patrick.moore2@va.gov
Candice Cummings | (605) 336-3230
candice.cummings@va.gov
January 28, 2015 Newport, OR Tasha Christensen* | (306) 696-4061, x34252
tasha.christensen@va.gov
Jerry Flores | (541) 265-8891
jerry.flores@oregon.gov
January 29, 2015 Temple, TX Michael Ormsby* | (254) 379-0532
michael.ormsby@va.gov
Christy Oliver | (254) 733-9884
christy.oliver@va.gov
January 29, 2015 Wichita, KS Melissa Gronau* | (316) 651-3684
melissa.gronau@va.gov
Melissa Hodge | (316) 685-2221, x57311
melissa.hodge@va.gov
January 31, 2015 Fort Myers, FL Jennifer Sprague* | (727) 398-6661, x7552
jennifer.sprague3@va.gov
Michelle Laycox | (727) 410-1428
michelle.laycox@va.gov
February 7, 2015 Lebanon, PA Deborah Brearton* | (717) 272-6621, x5779
deborah.brearton@va.gov
Keisha Kerr | (717) 272-6621
keisha.kerr@va.gov
February 12 – 14, 2015 Phoenix, AZ Esther Thomas* | (602) 803-2148
esther.thomas@va.gov
Michael Leon | (602) 568-7723
michael.leon@va.gov
February 13, 2015 Rochester, NY Jeanette Creighton* | (585) 393-8015
jeanette.creighton@va.gov
Kathryn Stevens | (585) 463-2600, x32540
kathryn.stevens@va.gov
February 21, 2015 Milwaukee, WI Roy Bishop | (414) 384-2000
roy.bishop@va.gov
Robert Hawkins | (414) 379-1221
February 27 – 28, 2015 Ocala, FL Dale Elzie* | (352) 376-1611, x5691
dale.elzie1@va.gov
Gary Pascale | (352) 433-2320
george.pascale@aol.com
March 5 – 7, 2015 Kingman, AZ Lee Elder* | (928) 4455-4860, x5589 or 6842
leroy.elder@va.gov
Pat Farrell | (928) 753-5239
president@javc.org
March 14, 2015 Lancaster, CA Michael Johnson | (310) 478-3711, x40786
michael. johnson33fc51@va.gov
Steven Baker | (661) 940-5272
March 18 – 19, 2015 Las Vegas, NV Cynthia Dodge | (702) 791-9000, x15822
cynthia.dodge3@va.gov
Cherie White-Fowler | (702) 791-9000, x13676
cherie.white-fowler@va.gov
March 23, 2015 Scottsbluff, NE Jamison Hild | (605) 720-7161
jamison.hild@va.gov
Heidi Hill | (605) 490-3592
heidi.hill@va.gov
April 8, 2015 Brainerd, MN Carolyn Ramirez | (320) 255-6480, x7190
carolyn.ramirez@va.gov
Paul Pedersen | (218) 722-8763
ppedersen@mac-v.org
April 10 – 12, 2015 San Gabriel, CA Michael Johnson | (310) 478-3711, x40786
michael. johnson33fc51@va.gov
Joe Leal | (323) 543-8440
April 11, 2015 Bay Pines, FL Jennifer Sprague* | (727) 398-6661, x7552
jennifer.sprague3@va.gov
Edgar Solivan | (727) 398-6661
edgardo.solivan@va.gov
April 11, 2015 Birmingham, AL Rick DeFilippo* | (205) 933-8101, x5951
rick.defilippo@va.gov
Willie Fields | (205) 933-8101, x6751
willie.fields@va.gov
April 11, 2015 Oakhurst, CA James Lujan | (559) 225-6100, x5764
james.lujan@va.gov
Terry Cole | (599) 760-5056
April 17, 2015 Winston Salem, NC Jennifer Herb | (704) 638-9000, x3011
jennifer.herb@va.gov
Kevin Donnelly | (336) 768-3296, x1500
kevin.donnelly@va.gov
April 18, 2015 Orlando, FL Ken Mueller | (407) 373-5471
kenneth.mueller@va.gov
Jean Coppin | (407) 629-1599, x1818
jean.coppin@va.gov
April 24, 2015 St. Cloud, MN Carolyn Ramirez | (320) 255-6480, x7190
carolyn.ramirez@va.gov
Laura Becker-Pallister | (320) 255-6480, x6321
laura.becker-pallister@va.gov
April 24 – 26, 2015 Tallahassee, FL Denna Green-Corbett* | (850) 521-5767
denna.green-corbett@va.gov
Claude Shipley | (850) 488-4181
shipleyOD@aol.com
April 25, 2015 Cocoa, FL Jacob Mckee* | (321) 637-3788, x42639
jacob.mckee@va.gov
Justin Woods | (321) 637-3788
justin.woods1@va.gov
April 25, 2015 Sarasota, FL Jennifer Sprague* | (727) 398-6661, x7552
jennifer.sprague3@va.gov
Michelle Laycox | (727) 410-1428
michelle.laycox@va.gov
May 1 – 3, 2015 Miami, FL Beth Wolfsohn* | (305) 541-5864 x2511
beth.wolfsohn@va.gov
Tony Colmenares | (305) 984-7849
colmenaresa@fdva.state.fl.us
May 8, 2015 Safford, AZ Bob Pilcher | (520) 305-6993
robert.pilcher@va.gov
Dave Nelson | (520) 792-1450, x3490
dave.nelson@va.gov
May 9, 2015 Couer d'Alene, ID Andy Rogers | (509) 462-2500 x40201
andrew.rogers4@va.gov
Eric Swanbeck | (208) 704-0548
May 23 – 24, 2015 Unalaska, AK Sharon Strutz-Norton* | (907) 257-5460
sharon.strutz-norton@va.gov
Phil Hokenson
phillip.hokenson@va.gov
May 29 – 30, 2015 Homer, AK Sharon Strutz-Norton* | (907) 257-5460
sharon.strutz-norton@va.gov
Phil Hokenson
phillip.hokenson@va.gov
June 26 – 27, 2015 Chicago, IL Jean Douglas* | 312-569-7828
 jean.douglas@va.gov
Don Donahue | (708) 202-8387, x24955
donald.donahue@va.gov
July 10 – 11, 2015 Nome, AK Sharon Strutz-Norton* | (907) 257-5460
sharon.strutz-norton@va.gov
Phil Hokenson
phillip.hokenson@va.gov
July 11, 2015 Coarsegold, CA James Lujan | (559) 225-6100, x5764
james.lujan@va.gov
Terry Cole | (599) 760-5056
July 31 – August 2, 2015 Kotzebue, AK Sharon Strutz-Norton* | (907) 257-5460
sharon.strutz-norton@va.gov
Phil Hokenson
phillip.hokenson@va.gov
September 10 – 13, 2015 Des Moines, IA Kimberly Neal* | (515) 699-5999, x4036
kimberly.neal@va.gov
Nick Lemmo | (515) 286-3671
nick.lemmo@polkcountyiowa.gov
September 25, 2015 Ridgecrest, CA James Egler | (310) 478-3711, x49711
james.egler@va.gov
Carol Coy | (760) 608-9251
coy_carol@verizon.net
September 26, 2015 Orlando, FL Ken Mueller | (407) 373-5471
kenneth.mueller@va.gov
Jean Coppin | (407) 629-1599, x1818
jean.coppin@va.gov
October 3, 2015 Daytona, FL Ken Mueller | (407) 373-5471
kenneth.mueller@va.gov
Jean Coppin | (407) 629-1599, x1818
jean.coppin@va.gov
October 16, 2015 Madera, CA James Lujan | (559) 225-6100, x5764
james.lujan@va.gov
Brandon Murray | (559) 676-8463
brandonmurray900@gmail.com
October 16, 2015 Oklahoma City, OK Christine Cleary | (405) 456-1710
christine.cleary@va.gov
Kevin Acers | (405) 456-1709
james.acers@va.gov

 

Back to Top