Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.
Graphic for the Veterans Crisis Line. It reads Veterans Cris Lins 1 800 273 8255 press 1
My healthevet badge
 

Homeless Veterans

Upcoming Events

Conferences

The events below are directly related to homelessness, Veterans' issues or have specific tracks or sessions exploring these topics. Please contact event organizers directly for more information or to register to attend.

Dates Event Name Location
January 26, 2016 Upcoming Webinar: Transforming Homeless Services in Pierce County, Wash. Webinar
January 28, 2016 Operation Hire Maryland Employer Networking Meeting Owings Mills, MD
February 18 – 19, 2016 2016 National Conference on Ending Family and Youth Homelessness Oakland, CA
March 12 – 15, 2015 National Association of Workforce Boards Forum 2016 Washington, DC
March 22 – 25, 2016 Housing First Partners Conference: Taking Housing First to Scale Los Angeles, CA
April 3 – 5, 2016 National Low Income Housing Coalition (NLIHC) Forum Washington, DC
April 28 – 29, 2016 National Housing Conference Solutions for Housing Communications Convening 2016 New York City
June 12 – 14, 2016 Council for Affordable and Rural Housing 2016 Annual Meeting & Legislative Conference Arlington, VA
June 24 – 25, 2016 USCM Workforce Development Council (WDC) Indianapolis, IN
June 25 – 28, 2016 2016 Volunteers of America National Conference Rosemont, IL
July 26 – 28, 2016 2016 National Conference on Ending Homelessness Washington, DC

Stand Downs

Stand Downs are typically one- to three-day events providing supplies and services to homeless Veterans, such as food, shelter, clothing, health screenings and VA Social Security benefits counseling. Veterans can also receive referrals to other assistance such as health care, housing solutions, employment, substance use treatment and mental health counseling. They are collaborative events, coordinated between local VA Medical Centers, other government agencies and community-based homeless service providers.

Below are the scheduled stand downs for 2015. This list is updated often so check back regularly. To volunteer for or participate in an upcoming stand down in your area, contact the Point of Contact (POC).

Dates Location VA Primary POC Alternate POC
January 8 - 10, 2016 Tucson, AZ Mark Jensen | (520) 792-1450, x5559 T.J. Rizzuti | (520) 792-1450, x4164
Mark.Jensen2@va.gov Anthony.Rizzuti@va.gov
January 15, 2016 Wichita, KS Melissa Gronau | (316) 651-3684 Melissa Hodge | (316) 685-2221, x57311
Melissa.Gronau@va.gov Melissa.Hodge@va.gov
January 23, 2016 Cleveland, OH Nellie Rogers | (330) 761-7054, x2016 Kathy Penman | (216) 391-0264, x2028
Nellie.Rogers@va.gov Kathleen.Penman@va.gov
January 23, 2016 Fort Myers, FL Jennifer Sprague | (727) 398-6661, x17552 Michelle Laycox | (727) 398-6661, x10334
Jennifer.Sprague3@va.gov Michelle.Laycox@va.gov
January 27, 2016 Adrian, MI Shawn Dowling | (734) 845-5058 Jill Harrison | (734) 845-5058
Shawn.Dowling@va.gov Jill.Harrison1@va.gov
January 27, 2016 McMinnville, OR Tasha Sloan | (360) 696-4061, x34399 Robert Earhart | (503) 434-7578
Tasha.Sloan1@va.gov robert.s.earhart@oregon.gov
January 28 - 29, 2016 Phoenix, AZ Melissa Meierdierks | (602) 568-7843 Randy Carman | (602) 568-8716
Melissa.Meierdierks@va.gov Randy.Carman@va.gov
January 28, 2016 Waco, TX Michael Ormsby | (254) 297-5222 Christy Oliver | (254) 733-9884
Michael.Ormsby@va.gov Christy.Oliver@va.gov
January 29 - 31, 2016 Harrisburg, PA Keisha Kerr | (717) 926-0894 Deborah Brearton | (717) 272-6621, x5779
Keisha.Kerr@va.gov Deborah.Brearton@va.gov
January 30, 2016 Washington, DC Kevin Morton | (202) 636-7660, x3666 Cheryl Samples | (202) 745-8320
Kevin.Morton@va.gov Cheryl.Samples@va.gov
February 5, 2016 Grants Pass, OR Heather Jenard | (541) 826-2111, x3990 Darin Dale | (541) 826-2111, x3924
Heather.Jenard@va.gov Darin.Dale@va.gov
February 27, 2016 Birmingham, AL Rick DeFilippo | (205) 933-8101, x5951 Willie Fields | (205) 933-8101, x6751
Rick.DeFilippo@va.gov Willie.Fields@va.gov
February 27, 2016 Lancaster, CA Michael Johnson | (310) 478-3711, x42537 Steve Baker | (661) 940-5272
Michael.Johnson33fc51@va.gov www.graceresources.org
February 27, 2016 Milwaukee, WI Roy Bishop | (414) 384-2000, x43583 Bob Hawkins | (414) 379-1221
Roy.Bishop@va.gov rhawkins001@wi.rr.com
February 29, 2016 Monroe, LA Vicki LaBorde | (318) 990-4421 Chocka Sullivan | (318) 990-4403
Vicki.Laborde@va.gov Chocka.Sullivan@va.gov
March 1, 2016 Kyle, SD Jamison Hild | (605) 490-8587 Heidi Hill | (605) 490-3592
Jamison.Hild@va.gov Heidi.Hill@va.gov
March 2, 2016 Mission, SD Jamison Hild | (605) 490-8587 Heidi Hill | (605) 490-3592
Jamison.Hild@va.gov Heidi.Hill@va.gov
March 4 - 5, 2016 Bullhead City, AZ Leroy Elder | (928) 897-1273 Dorn Patrick Farrell | (928) 716-3001
Leroy.Elder@va.gov president@javc.org
March 4, 2016 Rochester, NY Kathryn Stevens | (585) 463-2600, x32540 Erin Militello | (585) 953-0852
Kathryn.Stevens@va.gov Erin.Militello@va.gov
March 12, 2016 Lyndonville, VT Linda Neily | (802) 295-9363, x5769 Leigh Smith | (802) 447-6913
Linda.Neily@va.gov Leigh.Smith@va.gov
March 14, 2016 Brunswick, GA Nicole Solomon Sanders | (478) 304-2528 Ronald Johnson | (478) 290-8536
Nicole.Solomon@va.gov Ronald.Johnson22@va.gov
March 17, 2016 Vanderburgh County, IN Adam Coleman | (618) 694-1111 Brenda Foster | (314) 346-2076
Adam.Coleman2@va.gov Brenda.Foster4@va.gov
March 26, 2016 Cocoa, FL Justin Woods | (321) 637-7806 Angela Washington | (321) 637-3788, x42639
Justin.Woods1@va.gov Angela.Washington2@va.gov
April 2, 2016 Bay Pines, FL Jennifer Sprague | (727) 398-6661, x17552 Michelle Laycox | (727) 398-6661, x10334
Jennifer.Sprague3@va.gov Michelle.Laycox@va.gov
April 2, 2016 Florence, AZ Keith Hamblin | (520) 882-0333 Kim Rodriguez | (520) 431-5663
Keith.Hamblin@va.gov hohp4heroes@gmail.com
April 9, 2016 Nampa, ID John Poarch | (208) 695-5124 Anna Johnson-Whitehead | (208) 422-1000, x7806
John.Poarch@va.gov Anna.Johnson-Whitehead@va.gov
April 12, 2016 Scottsbluff, SD Jamison Hild | (605) 490-8587 Heidi Hill | (605) 490-3592
Jamison.Hild@va.gov Heidi.Hill@va.gov
April 16, 2016 Sarasota, FL Jennifer Sprague | (727) 398-6661, x17552 Michelle Laycox | (727) 398-6661, x10334
Jennifer.Sprague3@va.gov Michelle.Laycox@va.gov
April 22 - 23, 2016 Tallahassee, FL Denna Green-Corbett | (850) 521-5767 Washington Sanchez | (850) 488-4181
Denna.Green-Corbett@va.gov sanchezw@fdva.state.fl.us
April 29, 2016 St. Cloud, MN Tanya Greene | (320) 252-1670, x6169 Laura Becker-Pallister | (320) 252-1670, x6321
Tanya.Greene@va.gov Laura.Becker-Pallister@va.gov
May 5, 2016 Forks, WA Jessica Thomas | (253) 583-2827 John Braasch | (360) 301-9987
Jessica.Thomas5@va.gov voicesforveterans@yahoo.com
May 7, 2016 Oakhurst, CA Demetri Henry | (559) 225-6100, x4179 Brandon Murray | (559) 676-8463
Demetri.Henry@va.gov brandonmurray900@gmail.com
May 11, 2016 Ames, IA Kimberly Neal | (515) 699-5999, x4036 Nick Lemmo | (515) 286-3671
Kimberly.Neal@va.gov Nick.Lemmo@polkcountyiowa.gov
May 12, 2016 Casper, WY Jennifer Fairbanks | (307) 675-3248 Curt Merriam | (307) 675-3879
Jennifer.Fairbanks2@va.gov Curtis.Merriam@va.gov
May 17 - 18, 2016 Nashville, TN John Bradley | (615) 339-5863 Dan Heim | (615) 330-5728
John.Bradley6@va.gov Daniel.Heim@va.gov
May 20, 2016 Flagstaff, AZ Markham Breen | (928) 445-4860, x5305 Ted Martello | (928) 310-4590
Markham.Breen@va.gov TMartello@cc-az.org
May 24 - 26, 2016 Roseville, CA Tristan Ring | (925) 372-2455 Ellie Ramsey | (916) 969-0320
Tristan.Ring@va.gov info@PlacerVeteransStandDown.org
May 26 - 27, 2016 Rainelle, WV Mike Anderson | (304) 255-2121, x4429 Brian Sullivan | (304) 255-2121, x4429
Michael.Anderson32dc4f@va.gov Brian.Sullivan4@va.gov
June 4, 2016 Goshen, IN Steven Prater | (260) 426-5431, x72620 Daniel Reed | (574) 295-0105, x218
Steven.Prater2@va.gov Dreed@gotoworkone.com
June 29, 2016 Buffalo, NY Sean Lindstrom | (716) 862-8885 Alicia Sholtz | (716) 862-8885
Sean.Lindstrom@va.gov Alicia.Sholtz@va.gov
July 7, 2016 Coarsegold, CA Demetri Henry | (559) 225-6100, x4179 Brandon Murray | (559) 676-8463
Demetri.Henry@va.gov brandonmurray900@gmail.com
July 16, 2016 Bremerton, WA Jessica Thomas | (253) 583-2827 Anthony Sparber | (253) 583-2825
Jessica.Thomas5@va.gov Anthony.Sparber@va.gov
July 25, 2016 Port Townsend, WA Jessica Thomas | (253) 583-2827 John Braasch | (360) 301-9987
Jessica.Thomas5@va.gov voicesforveterans@yahoo.com
August 19 - 21, 2016 Seaside, CA Derek McGinnis | (650) 906-4426 Tom Griffin | (831) 883-8387, x232
Derek.McGinnis@va.gov gcg37@yahoo.com
August 25, 2016 Bismarck, ND Diana Hall | (701) 239-3700, x3472 Robert Olzweski | (701) 222-2396
Diana.Hall2@va.gov oldred@bis.midco.net
August 25 - 27, 2016 Marysville, CA Melissa Davis | (916) 843-2722 Mike Nichols | (530) 749-1036
Melissa.Davis@va.gov nichols.mikea@comcast.net
September 10, 2016 Greenville, MS Ovul Peric | (901) 523-8990, x7085 Joseph Herring | (850) 346-3996
Ovul.Peric@va.gov josephherring.gcvac@gmail.com
September 14 - 16, 2016 Fresno, CA Demetri Henry | (559) 225-6100, x4179 John Schuler | (559) 977-3697
Demetri.Henry@va.gov bigjohn.44@hotmail.com
September 16 - 18, 2016 Cumberland, RI Elizabeth Johnson | (401) 255-0859 Sherry Elderkin | (401) 261-9468
Elizabeth.Johnson6@va.gov SElderkin@osdri.org
September 16 - 18, 2016 Des Moines, IA Kimberly Neal | (515) 699-5999, x4036 Nick Lemmo | (515) 286-3671
Kimberly.Neal@va.gov Nick.Lemmo@polkcountyiowa.gov
September 16, 2016 Oklahoma City, OK Christine Cleary | (405) 456-1710 Kevin Acers | (405) 456-1709
Christine.Cleary@va.gov James.Acers@va.gov
September 17, 2016 Milwaukee, WI Roy Bishop | (414) 384-2000, x43583 Bob Hawkins | (414) 379-1221
Roy.Bishop@va.gov rhawkins001@wi.rr.com
September 23, 2016 Muncie, IN Carolyn Bowers | (260) 426-5431, x73289 Steven Prater | (260) 426-5431, x72620
carolyn.bowers@va.gov Steven.Prater2@va.gov
September 23, 2016 Ridgecrest, CA Michael Johnson | (310) 478-3711, x42537 Randall Hunt | (310) 268-4690
Michael.Johnson33fc51@va.gov Randall.Hunt@va.gov
September 28, 2016 South Bend, IN Jennifer Kimbrough | (800) 360-8387, x75997 Steven Prater | (260) 426-5431, x72620
Jennifer.Kimbrough1@va.gov Steven.Prater2@va.gov
September 30, 2016 Pineville, LA Bradley Allison | (318) 466-4067 Rena Powell | (318) 466-2773
Bradley.Allison@va.gov Rena.Powell@va.gov
October 1, 2016 Atlanta, GA April Edwards | (404) 321-6111, x2412 Adriane Thomas | (404) 321-6111, x4668
April.Edwards@va.gov Adriane.Thomas@va.gov
October 1, 2016 Bremerton, WA Jessica Thomas | (253) 583-2827 Anthony Sparber | (253) 583-2825
Jessica.Thomas5@va.gov Anthony.Sparber@va.gov
October 1, 2016 Racine, WI Roy Bishop | (414) 384-2000, x43583 Kirsten Hardy | (414) 263-6242
Roy.Bishop@va.gov Kirsten.Hardy@va.gov
October 6, 2016 Port Angeles, WA Jessica Thomas | (253) 583-2827 John Braasch | (360) 301-9987
Jessica.Thomas5@va.gov voicesforveterans@yahoo.com
October 7, 2016 Marion, IN Steven Prater | (260) 426-5431, x72620 Phil Turner | (765) 206-1287
Steven.Prater2@va.gov pkturner@indy.rr.com
October 8, 2016 Titusville, FL Justin Woods | (321) 637-7806 Angela Washington | (321) 637-3788, x42639
Justin.Woods1@va.gov Angela.Washington2@va.gov
October 12, 2016 Porterville, CA Demetri Henry | (559) 225-6100, x4179 John Schuler | (559) 977-3697
Demetri.Henry@va.gov bigjohn.44@hotmail.com
October 14, 2016 Anderson, IN Steven Prater | (260) 426-5431, x72620 April Forrest | (765) 457-1598, x88179
Steven.Prater2@va.gov April.l.forrest.ctr@mail.mil
October 14, 2016 Madera, CA Demetri Henry | (559) 225-6100, x4179 Brandon Murray | (559) 676-8463
Demetri.Henry@va.gov brandonmurray900@gmail.com
October 18 - 19, 2016 Nashville, TN John Bradley | (615) 339-5863 Dan Heim | (615) 330-5728
John.Bradley6@va.gov Daniel.Heim@va.gov
October 20 - 22, 2016 Anderson, CA M. Susan Tieden | (530) 247-7917 Terry Mikesell | (530) 221-6248
Mary.Tieden@va.gov stevebow@c-zone.net
October 20, 2016 Denton, TX Linda Saucedo | (214) 927-4501 Michele Lee | (214) 542-7650
Linda.Saucedo@va.gov Michele.Lee@va.gov
October 21, 2016 Austin, TX Andy Smith | (512) 773-0767 Paula Wood | (254) 743-1261
Michael.Smith5@va.gov Paula.Wood2@va.gov
October 21, 2016 Fort Wayne, IN Steven Prater | (260) 426-5431, x72620 David Wilson | (260) 387-5295, x309
Steven.Prater2@va.gov dawilson@voain.org
October 27, 2016 Sherman, TX Michele Lee | (214) 542-7650 Linda Saucedo | (214) 927-4501
Michele.Lee@va.gov Linda.Saucedo@va.gov
October 28, 2016 St. Cloud, MN Tanya Greene | (320) 252-1670, x6169 Laura Becker-Pallister | (320) 252-1670, x6321
Tanya.Greene@va.gov Laura.Becker-Pallister@va.gov
November 3, 2016 Denver, CO Christine Trujillo | (303) 914-5961 Barbara Martinez | (303) 914-5763
christine.trujillo@va.gov barbara.martinez2@va.gov
November 4, 2016 Kokomo, IN Steven Prater | (260) 426-5431, x72620 April Forrest | (765) 457-1598, x88179
Steven.Prater2@va.gov April.l.forrest.ctr@mail.mil
November 8, 2016 Dallas, TX Michele Lee | (214) 542-7650 Linda Saucedo | (214) 927-4501
Michele.Lee@va.gov Linda.Saucedo@va.gov
November 10, 2016 Dallas, TX Michele Lee | (214) 542-7650 Linda Saucedo | (214) 927-4501
Michele.Lee@va.gov Linda.Saucedo@va.gov
November 10, 2016 Rapid City, SD Jamison Hild | (605) 490-8587 Heidi Hill | (605) 490-3592
Jamison.Hild@va.gov Heidi.Hill@va.gov
November 11, 2016 Hanford, CA Demetri Henry | (559) 225-6100, x4179 Norm Boyles | (559) 362-3913
Demetri.Henry@va.gov nboyles@sbcglobal.net
November 12, 2016 Evansville, IN Paul Greene | (812) 473-5993, x72102 Eric McDaniel | (812) 473-5993, x72108
Paul.Greene@va.gov Eric.McDaniel@va.gov
November 16, 2016 Angola, IN Steven Prater | (260) 426-5431, x72620 Naomi Nicastro | (260) 426-5431, x71662
Steven.Prater2@va.gov Naomi.Nicastro2@va.gov
November 16, 2016 Fort Worth, TX Linda Saucedo | (214) 927-4501 Michele Lee | (214) 542-7650
Linda.Saucedo@va.gov Michele.Lee@va.gov
November 18, 2016 Hanford, CA Jessica Thomas | (253) 583-2827 Erin Horner | (253) 583-1631
Jessica.Thomas5@va.gov Erin.Horner@va.gov
November 19, 2016 Solomon, AZ Jodi Frederick | (520) 792-1450, x6586 Ray Apodaca | (928) 965-0785
Diana.Frederick@va.gov rcajpac@hotmail.com

Back to Top